Support and Thanks

Freedom City 2017 would not have been possible without the support of many individuals and organisations including:

Freedom City 2017 Steering Committee members:

Arts Council England; Eclipse Theatre; Gateshead Council; Great North Museum: Hancock; Harambee Pasadia; NE1; Newcastle Council; Newcastle Council for Voluntary Service; Newcastle United Football Club; Newcastle University; Newcastle University Students’ Union; NewcastleGateshead Initiative; Northern Roots; Northumbria University; Tyne and Wear Archives & Museums; Zendeh and also thanks to Chi Onwurah MP, Patron of Freedom City 2017.

NewcastleGateshead cultural venues and organisations:

BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art; Dance City; Gem Arts; Gosforth Civic Theatre; Harambee Pasadia Festival; Juice Festival; Jumpin’ Hot Club; Live Theatre; NEPN; NewBridge Project; Newcastle City Hall; Newcastle Theatre Royal; New Tyneside Orchestra; North East Gospel Choir; Northern Stage; Ouseburn Learning Trust; Platforma Festival; The Word – Respect Rap Group; Tyne and Wear Archives & Museums; Tyneside Cinema; Tyneside Irish Centre; Sage Gateshead; Seven Stories: The National Centre for Children’s Books; Side Gallery; St Nicholas Cathedral and Wylam Arts.

 Freedom on the Tyne Creative Associates:

Dan Adams; Alison Ashton; Debbie Fionn Barr; Bethany Elen Coyle; Katie Ebner-Landy; Amy Golding; Holly Irving; Taeko Koji; Pauline Malefane; Annie Rigby; Hannabiell Sanders; Deepak Kurki Shivaswamy; Phil Supple; Jennifer Weber and Roma Yagnik. Along with hundreds of volunteer participants and community groups, dancers, musicians and performers that took part.

Hotel support was been provided by The County.

Freedom City 2017 was a partnership between Newcastle University, Northern Roots and NewcastleGateshead Initiative. The vision for Freedom City 2017 was devised by Adam and Patrick Collerton and the city-wide programme was curated with partners across the city.

Launch of Freedom City 2017 in The Speaker’s Rooms, Houses of Parliament - Dr Hannabiell Sanders, Former US Ambassador to the UK Matthew Barzun, Chi Onwurah MP, Rt Hon John Bercow MP, Professor Richard Davies and Professor Mark Shucksmith - Image credit: © Newcastle University